Archive for January 11, 2008

Can technology really help you care for your aging parent?

By Janet Nowakowski 

This is my personal story.  As President of Alert Alarm, Inc., I have been involved in the medical alarm technology business for many years, and I’ve seen how important it can be to seniors.  It allows them to live independently, knowing that help is as close as the push of a button when they need it. 

janet_mom.jpg   Over the years, I’ve had dozens of phone calls and letters thanking me for our services and products, saying how well they work in an emergency situation.  Of course, it was always a wonderful feeling and certainly made my day. But I didn’t truly understand the importance of these products until I used them with my own family.  

My mother had been strong and independent her whole life, always there to care for everyone in our family.  So, when the tables turned, and she needed help from us, it was a transition for us all.  We wanted to be there for her, but still allow her a sense of privacy and independence.  Having a medical alert device gave her and us the ability to live our lives the way we all wanted to, but still be in constant contact.   

As her health deteriorated, and she began living in our home, the system was just as valuable to us.  In the last month of my mother’s life, we used her medical pendant to chime throughout our home when she needed someone, and then also to call my cell phone.   Within seconds I would be in her room whether I was inside or outside, so I was able to give her constant care. 

If you really want to be there 24/7 for your loved ones, I urge you to get a medical alert system tailored to your needs.  I can help you!  Just call me at Alert Alarm, Inc. at 1-888-99-ALERT.  I promise to make you and your loved ones feel as confident as my mother and I felt. 

January 11, 2008 at 5:08 pm 2 comments

Hello world!

I’m Janet Nowakowski – wife, mother, caregiver and President of Alert Alarm, Inc. located in Michigan.  I’m working with new medical alert technology that lets seniors live independently in their homes while maintaining constant contact with their families and emergency services when and if they need help.   While these technologies keep seniors independent, they also allow family members to maintain their independence!  I know from personal experience that, when you are the primary caregiver for an aging parent, your life is always on hold… your plans are always tentative…  These new medical alert systems allow us all to live our lives with more dignity, more privacy and more independence.  I look forward to updating you about the ‘inside scoop’ on this industry, products and services.  Let me know your experiences!

January 11, 2008 at 5:02 pm 1 comment


Calendar

January 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Posts by Month

Posts by Category